News - Auto News

Toyota looks for a breakthrough with reworked Avalon, Corolla hatch

The relatively low-volume Avalon and Corolla hatchback offer a preview of stablemates that are more critical for Toyota North America: the reworked Lexus ES, which will debut this week in Beijing, and the coming Corolla sedan.

GM brings Cadillac back into the fold

In ousting Johan de Nysschen and replacing him with Steve Carlisle, a company loyalist in the vein of CEO Mary Barra, GM appears to be signaling its desire to bring Cadillac back into the fold under a single, unified corporate vision that emphasizes...

Self-driving cars hitting red lights

Federal and state officials, once eager advocates of self-driving cars, now are pumping the brakes and demanding greater accountability and information that autos and tech companies may not be willing to provide.

Toyota powertrain boss Hirohisa Kishi feeling the pressure

Hirohisa Kishi says he's tackling one of his biggest challenges yet #8212; how to keep internal combustion engines competitive in the age of electric vehicles.

Retooled QX50 fills Infiniti's 'biggest void'

Infiniti has turned its aging QX50 into a true competitor in the compact premium crossover space, with an advanced engine, new safety technologies and an attractive sticker.